SPQA is a 501(c) (3) Non-Profit organization managed by an Executive Director and a volunteer Board of Directors, and is one of 29 state and regional programs affiliated with the nation’s Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. In a non-partisan role, Virginia’s United States Senators serve as Honorary Chairpersons and assist in program promotion and recognition of Award recipients.


Directors and officers serve annual terms and are elected or re-elected at the December annual meeting. The Board sets policy and plans for its operations and programs, and for SPQA’s future. The Executive Director, SPQA’s only paid employee, supports the Board under the direction of the Chair. Board Members represent the vast array of SPQA constituencies. Virginia SPQA files annual Internal Revenue Service non-profit tax returns available for public inspection. Financial support comes primarily from modest participant fees and Sponsor donations. Members of the public are encouraged to contact the Executive Director with questions about how the organization is governed and/or request copies of any public filings.

Board of Directors

Ron Henson, DBA
Vice-Chair for Strategy
Ms. Henri Tosoc-Haskell
Vice-Chair for Operations